• Willamette Valley Vineyards is Certified Vegan

Willamette Valley Vineyards is Certified Vegan

Willamette Valley Vineyards is Certified Vegan

Willamette Valley Vineyards is Certified Vegan

Willamete Valley Vineyards is Certified Vegan, making them one of only 8 wineries in the country.

article originally featured in Willamette Valley Vineyards Dec 11th 2019
"Several of our wines are now Certified Vegan, including our Estate Pinot Noir, Whole Cluster Pinot Noir, Whole Cluster Rosé of Pinot Noir and Estate Rosé of Pinot Noir. Being Certified Vegan ensures that no animal, dairy or honey bee-derived ingredients are used to make our wines. There are only a handful of wineries in the United States that have gone through the rigorous steps to be Certified Vegan.

We're excited to share that our 2016 Estate Pinot Noir is now Certified Vegan! According to Vegan.org, there are only seven other wineries in the country besides Willamette Valley Vineyards that have gone through the rigorous steps to carry Certified Vegan products.

Staying true to the Oregon wine industry's leadership in truth-in-labeling practices, we want to be as transparent as possible with the production methods of our wines," explained Winery Director Christine Clair. "Oregon has enacted the strictest regulations of any state with regards to declaration of grape origin and varietal to ensure the integrity and quality of Oregon wine. It is in our winery's culture and values to extend this to our production methods,” Clair continued. “Consumers are increasingly inquisitive about the source of their food and beverage, so we wanted to make it easy for them to make an informed decision that fits their dietary and lifestyle goals.”

In addition to being Certified Vegan, these wines are made using sustainable practices. All of our Estate vineyards are L.I.V.E (Low Input Viticulture & Enology) and Salmon-Safe certified; our corks are Forest Stewardship Council® certified, and the Estate is 100% wind and solar powered.

What does it mean to be "Vegan Certified?"

To be approved for Vegan Certification, a product must meet several standards. In summary, it cannot contain meat, fish, fowl, animal by-products, eggs, milk, honey, insects, products from insects or sugar filtered with bone char. It may not contain or be sourced from leather, fur, silk, feathers, down, bone, horn, shell, wool, cashmere, shearling, angora, animal skin, suede or mohair. There are also strict regulations for zero involvement in animal testing for any ingredient or processing step and GMO’s are not allowed. Assurance that equipment coming into contact with animal products is thoroughly sanitized must also be approved. In terms of winemaking specifically, the product may not be filtered, defoamed or clarified with any animal products, such as egg whites, gelatin, fish or milk derived proteins. Finally, any fertilizers used during the grape growing process may not contain any animal products.

Willamette Valley Vineyards, Estate Pinot Noir 2017

Willamette Valley Vineyards, Pinot Noir Whole Cluster 2018

Willamette Valley Vineyards, Rose Whole Cluster 2017

Recent Press